prepaid.ai vs Smith.ai
Smith.ai sells two things: live receptionists, priced per call, and an AI receptionist that can hand a call to one of their people. prepaid.ai is an AI phone line only — no live staff — sold as prepaid plans of minutes with no contract. If you want a person on the line, Smith.ai offers that and we do not.
Last checked · their details from Smith.ai’s own public pages, prices as listed there
What each one offers.
Ours is read from our live plans in the United States. Theirs is what their own pages said; the small number beside a fact points to the page it came from.
| Feature | prepaid.ai | Smith.ai |
|---|---|---|
| How you pay | Prepaid plans of 30 days with minutes included, metered per second. Top up when you need more. | Per call: a monthly plan includes a set number of calls, then a fee for each extra call.12 |
| Starting price | US$29 for 100 minutes every 30 days (Lite, United States). | AI receptionist: a free plan with 25 calls a month, then Pro from $150/month. Live receptionists: from $300/month for 30 calls.12 |
| Free trial | 7 days free, no card. Build your AI and talk to it in the browser first. | The free AI plan (25 calls a month). A money-back guarantee for new clients on the live receptionist plans.12 |
| Contract | None. A plan runs 30 days; recharge when you want to. | Month to month, no long-term contract. The AI plans ask for 30 days’ notice to cancel.12 |
| Who answers | An AI phone line. We don’t offer live human receptionists. | Live receptionists, an AI receptionist, or both. AI calls can be passed to a live North America-based receptionist.12 |
| Books appointments | Yes, during the call, into a time it has checked is free. | Yes. On the live plans, appointment booking is $1.50 a call; the AI plans list AI scheduling.12 |
| Calendars named | Google Calendar. | Calendly, Acuity, Appointy and Harmonizely named.1 |
| Tells callers it’s an AI | Yes — at the start of every call, in the words each country asks for. | Not stated on their public pages |
| Numbers and countries | A local number in the United States, New Zealand, Australia, the United Kingdom and Canada, or forward the number you have. | Not stated on their public pages |
| Integrations and API | An MCP server, an API and webhooks. | HubSpot, Salesforce, Clio and Zapier named.1 |
Honest about where each one wins.
- You want a live person to answer, or an AI with a person behind it.
- You would rather pay per call than per minute.
- You need Spanish calls handled — they list a dedicated Spanish line on the live plans.
- You want to pay ahead: a 30-day plan with minutes included, and no contract.
- You want callers told it’s an AI at the start of every call.
- You want it to book into Google Calendar while the caller is on the line.
- You want a local number in the United States, New Zealand, Australia, the United Kingdom and Canada.
- You want to hear your own AI before you pay — 7 days free, no card.
Smith.ai’s details were read on their own pages on . Prices and plans change — check their page before you decide. Anything their pages did not state is left blank above rather than guessed.
- 1Smith.ai — plans and pricing (virtual receptionists)smith.ai/pricing
- 2Smith.ai — plans and pricing for AI receptionistsmith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist